About OASC

The Purpose of the Ohio Association of Senior Centers is to support and enhance the ability of Ohio’s senior center network to effectively serve older adults by providing: Education, Mentoring, and Training to Senior Center and Aging Network Staff: Educational programs, workshops and seminars are offered throughout the year, including the annual conference, regional workshops and educational events cosponsored with other organizations. Center staff members can be certified on one of three levels based upon experience and educational achievements.

A Brief History

The Ohio Association of Senior Centers, Inc. (OASC) is celebrating 59 years of service to Ohio Senior Centers and, by extension, the older adults they serve. As OASC celebrates another milestone as the oldest state association of senior centers in the nation, we recognize that we have come a long way, we are leading the way into the future aging network and we look forward to the 2018 Annual Spring Conference “Staying Dynamic in a Changing World.”

In 1959, a small group of dedicated senior center directors led by Muriel Bertsch of Hamilton, Ohio met to establish a new organization. She had a vision of uniting senior centers in Ohio to enable them to become stronger focal points of service in their communities. This organization was originally known as the Ohio Association of Centers for Senior Citizens, Inc. In 1975, the organization incorporated. Then, in 1984 the name was changed to the Ohio Association of Senior Centers, Inc. (OASC). While a strong leader in Ohio, Ms. Bertsch was also a founder of the National Institute of Senior Centers (NISC). She often used her OASC experience as a guide in building NISC and for how other state associations could benefit the aging network. The purpose of OASC has remained essentially the same over all of these years, to provide leadership, advocacy, training and networking for its members.

Within the first few years an annual conference became the center piece of this active group. The OASC Spring Conference is still a “must attend” for senior center and aging network professionals. In 1983, a newsletter was first published and continues to be a vital link with members. In 1995, senior center staff certification became a reality and continues as an important part of the mission of OASC. In 1998, OASC made its presence known on the World Wide Web. In 2015, The OASC introduced Senior Center Certification which offers Senior Centers another level of professionalism and dedication to senior care.

The Board of OASC is made up of active, busy senior center directors and staff who work hard as volunteers on behalf of senior centers and the clients these senior centers serve. Through the years, board members have come from all over the state to add to the diversity of ideas and create a strong, effective organization that benefits urban, suburban and rural senior centers in their mission to serve senior citizens where they live.

As member senior centers, we are part of a great tradition. Together, we look forward to a bright future in the aging network as we serve older adults through senior centers. Please visit our website at www.ohioasc.org.

- Mission Statement

The Ohio Association of Senior Centers’ mission is clear, be an advocate for senior center professionals to obtain industry information, leverage industry contacts, and provide ongoing continuing education and useful information as it pertains to senior centers in Ohio.

Muriel Bertsch Award

Past Winners

2018 – Denise Niese

2017  Bryan Glover & Paula Taliaferro

2016 – Larke Recchie, O4A

2015 – Steve Schnabl

2014 – Kim & David Corey, PACA, Inc.

2013 – Marc Molea, ODA

2012 – Shon Gress

2011 – Lucinda Smith

2010 – Sue Armbruster

2009 – Deborah Newcomb

2008 – Cindy Farson

2007 – Grace Nash (posthumously)

2006 – Barb Klingensmith

2005 – Naomi Trout

2004 – Betty Montgomery

2003 – Mike Turner

2002 – Richard Hoffman

2001 – Senator Mike DeWine

2000 – Donald Barrett & Walter Ehrnfelt

1999 – Marjorie Harper

1998 – Jean Smith

1997 – G. .Robert Lazton

1996 – Ray Kingsbury

1995 – Kenneth Mahan & Lucile Costello

1994 – Helen  S. Brown

1993 – Lois Brown Dale

1992 – Robert Logan

1991 – Eleanor Thomas

1990 – Carol Austin

1989 – Governor Richard Celeste

1988 – Grant McDonald

1987 – Senator David Hobson

1986 – Rosalie Morgan

1985 – Bill DeJonckheere

1984 – Jane Carothers

1983 – Roberta Graham

1982 – Martin Janis

1981 – Alexander Monro

1980 – Margaret Lloyd

1979 – Maxie Gohe (posthumously)

1978 – Catherine Gille

1977 – Jean Maxwell

1976 – Muriel Bertsch

Community Partners Award

Past Winners

2018 – Culligan Water & RSVP of Washington County

2017 – Cambridge Lions Club

2016 – The Meadows of Kalida, Leipsic and Ottawa

2015 – Huron City Board of Mental Health & Addiction Services and Ashtabula City Technical & Career Center

2014 – Southeastern Med

2013 – Pantec Career Center & Martin Bartik

2012 – Rupp Seed Inc. (For Profit) & Norwalk Lions Club (Not-For-Profit)

2011 – Grace United Methodist

2010 – None Awarded

2009 – Hardin County Hospice

2008 – County Commissioners Association of Ohio

Board of Directors

2016 -2018 OASC Board of Trustees


Jodi Warnecke, Exec.Director – PSA 3
Putnam County Council on Aging
1425 E. Fourth St.
Ottawa, OH 45875
Phone: 419/523-4121
Fax: 419/523-3129
E-mail: jwarnecke-pccoa@bright.net


Connie Huntsman, Exec. Director – PSA 8
O’Neill Senior Center, Inc.
333 Fourth St.
Marietta, Oh 45750
Phone: 740/373-3914
E-mail: chuntsman@oneillcenter.com


Barb Klingensmith, Exec. Director – PSA 11
Country Neighbor Program, Inc.
39 South Maple
PO Box 212
Orwell, OH 44076
Phone: 440/437-6311
Fax: 440/437-1031
E-mail: barbk@countryneighbor.org


Stephanie Fallcreek, President/CEO – PSA 10A
Fairhill Partners12200
Fairhill Rd
Cleveland, OH 44120
Phone: 216/421-1350
Fax : 216/421-8874
E-mail: sfallcreek@fairhillpartners.org


Shon Gress, Exec. Director – PSA 9
Guernsey County Senior Citizens Center
1022 Carlisle Avenue
Cambridge, OH 43725
Tel:    740/439-6681
Fax:   740/ 439-7478
E-mail:    sgress@guernseysenior.org


2016 – 2018 OASC Executive Directors

Marti Fuller, Exec. Director – PSA 6
Licking County Aging Program, Inc.
745 E. Main St.
Newark, OH 43055
Phone: 740/641-2492
Fax: 740/349-8003
E-mail: mfuller@lcap.org

Anna Tobin, Exec. Director – PSA 6
Meals on Wheels Older Adult Alternatives of Fairfield Co.
Phone: 740/681-5050
Fax :
E-mail: atobin@mowfc.org

Ellen Slone-Farthing, Exec. Director-PSA 2
Fairborn Senior Center
325 N. Third St.
Fairborn, OH. 45324
Phone: 937/878-4141, Ext.212
Fax: 937/878-4775
E-mail: ellenslone@fairbornseniors.org

Denise C. Niese, Exec. Director – PSA 4
Wood County Comm. on Aging, Inc.
305 N. Main St.
Bowling Green, OH 43402
Phone: 419/353-5661
Fax: 419/352-7918
E-mail: dcniese@wccoa.net

2016 – 2018 OASC Executive Directors

Bryan Glover, Exec. Director – PSA 5
Seneca County Comm. on Aging
382 South Huron St.
Tiffin, OH 44883
Phone: 419/447-5792
Fax: 419/447-6284
E-mail: sccoainc@bright.net

Malinda Ruble, Exec. Director – PSA 4
Maumee Senior Center
2430 South Detroit Ave.
Maumee, OH 43537
Phone: 419/893-1994
Fax: 419/893-9616
E-mail: maumeeseniorcenter@gmail.com

Mike Turner, Program Asst. – PSA 8
United Seniors of Athens County
701 E. State St. – Suite 101
Athens, OH 45701
Phone: 740/594-3535
Fax: 740/594-2462
E-mail: usac701@gmail.com

Maureen Fagans, Exec. Director/CEO – PSA 2
United Senior Services
125 W. Main St.
Springfield, OH 45502
Phone: 937/323-4948
Fax: 937/324-9005
E-mail: mfagans@unitedseniorservices.org

Robin Richter, Exec. Director – PSA 4
WSOS Community Action  Commission, Inc.
PO Box 590
Freemont, OH 43420
Phone: 419/332-2015
Fax: 419/332-8720
E-mail: rjrichter@wsos.org